Skip Navigation

Annual Student Research Poster Symposium

The 2014 Student Research  Poster  Symposium was held on April 23 in the Mechanical Engineering department. The Symposium included 34 posters from graduate and undergraduate students and covered a wide variety of research topics. The hard work by all entrants was impressive and greatly appreciated. A panel of seven judges evaluated the entries and seven winners were selected based on the combination of their poster layout, ability to convey information, as well as relevance and engineering merit. We would like to thank the student volunteers who helped with the organization and the judges for their diligence in evaluating all entries in a considerate and timely manner. After deliberation, the winning entries were announced the same day and the first authors of awarded posters received an honorary certificate. We would like to congratulate all participants and commend the authors of the following winning posters:

Ph.D. category:

  1. Thermoelectrically-driven sustainable sensing and automation systems for fault tolerant nuclear incidents

    Mahder Tewolde, Hanfei Chen, Chih-Chieh Lin, He Tao, Gaosheng Fu, Tao Zhang, Lei Zuo, David Hwang, and Jon Longtin
  2. Laser extraction and separation of rare-earth elements

    Pyung-cho Han, Tao Zhang, and David Hwang 
  3. Laser processing of biomimetic super-hydrophobic surfaces for energy and structural applications

    Tao Zhang and David Hwang
  4. Optimum joint arthrodesis and immobilization angles to allow for better fingertip mobility and manipulability

    Paul Arauz and Imin Kao
  5. Building engineering interface and analysis in orthopaedic surgery: Improve accuracy of wide resection of bone tumors and enhance implant fitting

    Carlos Helguero and Imin Kao

MS/BE category:

  1. Three dimensional nano/microfabrication using two-photon polymerization with pico-second laser

    Dong Sung Kim, Seung Kuk Kuk, and David Hwang
  2. Portable Infant Incubator

    Christopher Norona, Rendy Tejada, Anna Wu, Ying Zhao, Tao He, Qing Chang, and John Brittelli  
Login to Edit