Skip Navigation
Search

Faculty

  • Full Time

    Full Time Faculty

    Chakraborty, Nilanjan

    Chakraborty, Nilanjan

    Assistant Professor, Ph. D., 2008, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

    (631) 632-9327

    nilanjan.chakraborty@stonybrook.edu

    Robot Motion Planning, Multi-robot Coordination, Human-Robot Interaction, Mechanism Design, Multi-body Dynamics, Distributed Intelligent Systems for Energy Automation, Sensor Networks, Distributed Algorithms, Combinatorial Optimization.

    View More

    Chang, Qing (Cindy)

    Chang, Qing (Cindy)

    Associate Professor, Ph. D., 2006, University of Michigan

    (631) 632-8329

    qing.chang@stonybrook.edu

    Real-time production control, manufacturing system modeling, simulation and intelligent maintenance, real-time energy management of manufacturing system.

    View More

    Chiang, Fu-Pen

    Chiang, Fu-Pen

    SUNY Distinguished Professor, Ph. D., 1966, University of Florida

    (631) 632-8311

    Fu-pen.Chiang@stonybrook.edu

    Experimental solid mechanics; optical nondestructive evaluation.

    View More

    Chen, Shikui

    Chen, Shikui

    Assistant Professor. Ph.D., 2010, Northwestern University

    (631) 632- 2309

    Shikui.Chen@stonybrook.edu

    Mechanical Engineering. Ph.D., 2006, Chinese University of Hong Kong: Automation and Computer Aided Engineering.

    View More

    Colosqui, Carlos

    Colosqui, Carlos

    Assistant Professor. Ph.D., 2009, Boston University

    (631) 632-4758

    Carlos.Colosqui@stonybrook.edu

    Microscale transport phenomena; statistical physics, theoretical and computational fluid dynamics, colloidal systems and complex fluids.

    View More

    Cubaud, Thomas

    Cubaud, Thomas

    Associate Professor, Ph.D., 2001, Paris-Sud University/ESPCI

    631-632-1110

    thomas.cubaud@stonybrook.edu

    Microfluidics, multiphase flows, interfacial fluid dynamics, complex fluids, nanotechnologies.

    View More

    Ge, Q. Jeffrey

    Ge, Q. Jeffrey

    Chair and Professor. Ph.D., 1990, University of California, Irvine

    (631) 632-8305

    Qiaode.Ge@stonybrook.edu

    Computer aided design and manufacturing (CAD/CAM), robotics and manufacturing automation, mechanical system design and simulation, and application of geometric modeling and computer graphics in engineering.

    View More

    Hwang, David

    Hwang, David

    Associate Professor. Ph.D., 2005, University of California at Berkeley

    (631) 632- 8346

    david.hwang@stonybrook.edu

    Micro-and nanoscle heat transfer, laser-assisted solar photovoltaic manufacturing and diagnostics, advanced diagnostics of light-matter interaction

    View More

    Kao, Imin

    Kao, Imin

    Professor & Associate Vice President for Economic Development PhD., 1991, Stanford University

    (631) 632-8308

    imin.kao@stonybrook.edu

    Robotics; stiffness control; wiresaw manufactururing process; manufacturing automation; Taguchi methods.

    View More

    Kirane, Kedar

    Kirane, Kedar

    Assistant Professor. Ph.D. 2014, Northwestern University

    631-632-8309

    kedar.kirane@stonybrook.edu

    Solid mechanics, fracture mechanics, scaling, fatigue quasibrittle materials, geo-mechanics, poro-mechanics, poly-crystal plasticity, probabilistic mechanics, multi-scale modeling

    View More

    Kukta, Robert

    Kukta, Robert

    Associate Professor & Senior Associate Dean for Education and Innovation. Ph.D., 1998, Brown University

    631-632-8304

    Robert.Kukta@stonybrook.edu

    Solid mechanics, thin films, crystal growth, micro-mechanics of defects in crystals.

    View More

    Ladeinde, Foluso

    Ladeinde, Foluso

    Associate Professor, Ph.D., 1988, Cornell University

    (631) 632-9293

    Foluso.Ladeinde@stonybrook.edu

    Turbulence; high speed flows; theoretical and computational fluid dynamics; materials processing.

    View More

    Lawler, Benjamin

    Lawler, Benjamin

    Assistant Professor, Ph.D., 2013, University of Michigan

    (631) 632-8022

    benjamin.lawler@stonybrook.edu

    Efficiency and emissions of internal combustion engines, drive-cycle modeling and simulation of various vehicle architectures to evaluate the fuel economy benefits of each next-generation technology.

    View More

    Longtin, Jon

    Longtin, Jon

    Professor, Ph.D., P.E., 1995, University of California at Berkeley

    (631) 632-9436

    jon.longtin@stonybrook.edu

    Short-pulse laser-material interactions; precision laser measurement techniques, microscale heat transfer.

    View More

    Machtay, Noah

    Machtay, Noah

    Full-time Manager of Instructional Laboratories &  Teaching Associate Professor. Ph.D., 2009, Stony Brook University

    (631) 632-9014

    noah.machtay@stonybrook.edu

     

    View More

    Mamalis, Sotirios

    Mamalis, Sotirios

    Assistant Professor. Ph.D., 2012, University of Michigan

    (631) 632-8077

    Sotirios.Mamalis@stonybrook.edu

    Power generation and propulsion systems with emphasis on internal combustion engines.

    View More

    Nakamura, Toshio

    Nakamura, Toshio

    Professor & Graduate Program Director., Ph.D., 1986, Brown University

    (631) 632-8312

    Toshio.Nakamura@stonybrook.edu

    Solid mechanics; computational fracture mechanics.

    View More

    Purwar, Anurag

    Purwar, Anurag

    Research Associate Professor & SPIR Coordinator. Ph.D., 2005, Stony Brook University

    (631) 632-8542

    anurag.purwar@stonybrook.edu

    CAD/CAM, Computational Kinematics, Design Automation, Mechanisms and Robotics, Virtual Reality Applications in Science and Engineering, Design Education

    View More

    Rastegar, Jahangir

    Rastegar, Jahangir

    Associate Professor. Ph.D., 1976, Stanford University

    (631) 632-8314

    Jahangir.Rastegar@stonybrook.edu

    Kinematics, dynamics and control of high performance machinery, optimal design of mechanical systems.

    View More

    Sesay, Juldeh

    Sesay, Juldeh

    Teaching Associate Professor. Ph.D., 2005, Stony Brook University

    (631) 632-8493

    Juldeh.Sesay@stonybrook.edu

    Simulation-based engineering science for fluid mechanics, problems in renewable energy, environmental, biological and cardiovascular applications.

    View More

    Wang, Lifeng

    Wang, Lifeng

    Assistant Professor. Ph.D., 2006, Tsinghua University

    (631) 632-1182

    Lifeng.Wang@stonybrook.edu

    Materials modeling, computational mechanics, micro- and nano-mechanics, materials testing and characterization, rapid prototyping and 3D printing, and composites.

    View More

    Wang, Lin-Shu

    Wang, Lin-Shu

    Associate Professor. Ph.D., 1966, University of California, Berkeley

    631-632-8816

    Lin-Shu.Wang@stonybrook.edu

    Energy conversion; thermodynamics; high-efficiency combustion engines.

    View More

    Wang, Ya

    Wang, Ya

    Assistant Professor. Ph.D., 2012, Virigina Polytechnic Institute and State University

    (631) 632- 8322

    ya.s.wang@stonybrook.edu

    Adaptive and multifunctional structures with integrated wireless sensing, energy harvesting and dynamic control using smart materials.

    View More

  • Affiliated

    Affiliated Faculty

    Sotiropoulos, Fotis

    Sotiropoulos, Fotis

    Joint Appointment with Mechanical Engineering. Dean of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Professor of Civil Engineering

    (631) 632-8380

    fotis.sotiropoulos@stonybrook.edu

    Simulation-based engineering science for fluid mechanics, problems in renewable energy, environmental, biological and cardiovascular applications.

    Sharma, Satya

    Sharma, Satya

    Visiting Professor & Executive Director of Center for Wireless and Information Technology

    (631) 632-8350

    Satya.Sharma@stonybrook.edu

      Ph.D., 1975, University of Pennsylvania: Manufacturing and Production

    Sampath, Sanjay

    Sampath, Sanjay

    Distinguished Professor

    (631) 632-9512

    Sanjay.Sampath@stonybrook.edu

    Joint Appointment with Mechanical Engineering. Distinguished Professor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering. Ph.D., 1989, State University of New York at Stony Brook: thermal spray processing of materials, synthesis and application of multilayered surfaces and development of direct write technology for thick film sensors and electronics.

    Shmuel, Einav

    Shmuel, Einav

    Director, Medical Technologies Division, Ph. D

    (631) 216-7105

    shmuel.einav@stonybrook.edu

    He is best known for his studies on blood flow through heart valves, coronary circulation, blood-tissue interaction, and flow and turbulent characteristics in occluded arteries.

    Qin, Yi-Xian

    Qin, Yi-Xian

    Professor, Ph. D., 1997, Stony Brook University

    (631) 216-7105

    shmuel.einav@stonybrook.edu

    He is best known for his studies on blood flow through heart valves, coronary circulation, blood-tissue interaction, and flow and turbulent characteristics in occluded arteries.

    View More

  • Emeritus

    Faculty Emeritus

    Kincaid, John

    Kincaid, John

    Professor Emeritus., Ph.D., 1974, Rockefeller University

    (631) 632-8320

    John.Kincaid@stonybrook.edu

    Statistical mechanics and thermodynamics

    View More

    O'Brien, Edward E

    O'Brien, Edward E

    Emeritus Professor., Ph.D., 1960, The Johns Hopkins University

    (631) 632-8344

    eeobrien@aol.com

    Fluid mechanics; theoretical studies of turbulence transport, and chemical reactions.

    View More

    Tsai, James

    Tsai, James

    Professor Emeritus. Ph.D., 1962, Columbia University

    (631) 632-8309

    James.Tasi@stonybrook.edu

    Solid mechanics; shock waves in crystal lattices and granular media; dislocation motion in crystals.

    View More

  • Adjunct

    Adjunct Faculty

    Butcher, Thomas

    Head of Energy Resources Division at Brookhaven National Lab

    Checco, Antonio

    Hsu, Ta-Yung

    Lu, Ming

    Yang, Xiaolei

    Adjunct Lecturers

    Rosati, Thomas

    Becchina, William

    Kurt, Arzu

    Mendelson, Jay

    Stoll, Sean

top
Login to Edit